Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Everyoneby Jenny from Chelmsford
Nice hotel close to everythingPosted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Fairly quiet, friendly staff, comfy bed, good location.
Cons: Small chest of drawers in single room under the desk would have been useful for underwear and t shirts etc.
Location: Near all the major museums, Diamond factory and museum, Hard Rock Cafe, Holland Casino, Leidsplein, lots of restaurants, coffee shops etc
Hotel room was adequately furnished for my needs (although could have done with a small chest of drawers), the bathroom was a good size for a single traveller and the bed was comfy. The staff were helpful and friendly and I was allowed to leave my luggage in a separate room once I had checked out, as I had another 3 hours until I had to get the Schipol bus back to the airport, this meant I could go and visit another attraction. Hotel is about 500m away from bustling Leidsplein, so I could access both trams and buses to go wherever I wanted or simply walk straight to Dam Square (I find walking is the best way to explore) or Centraal Station to hop on the metro. Getting a GVB 24, 48 or 72 hour pass is a good way to explore all the various attractions in Amsterdam, this gets you on buses, trams and the metro until the card expires. I would recommend getting a 24 hour ticket for the Hop on, Hop off tourist bus, which takes you all round the major spots to visit, this can be a good way of seeing the city and getting a feel for the area, you also get a free tour around Gassan Diamond factory as part of this. There is a supermarket around the corner from the hotel, turn right when you leave the hotel, then right again onto 'Overtoom' and walk around 500m. There is also a 'nightshop' on the other side of 'Overtoom' if you need something late at night to eat, drink etc (the chicken pieces and rice are quite good). All in all, a great place to explore Amsterdam from.
for Everyoneby Andrew from Edinburgh, Scotland
Well located but looking run downPosted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Free safe and free wii
Cons: Decor, room size, lift.
Location: Well located just a few minutes from Leideseplein
I didn't get off to the best of starts as I was kept waiting at check-in for the manager to get off the phone. It turned out that the hotel was over booked and they had arranged to move me by taxi to another Hampshire Hotel at Rembrandt Square. To say I wasn't happy (it was 9pm at the end of a day's travel) was an understatement. However, it then transpired, after I had brought up the topic of compensation, that a single room was after all available. So not really very sure what the story was. My room was on the second floor. A pretty small lift (probably takes three at a push) takes you there. The room was really small. It had one fluorescant ceiling light and a bedside light giving it a cold feeling. It looked old fashioned and the furniture was well worn. The bathroom was compact. The shower had a shower curtain around it which was useless at keeping the water in the shower. But the shower itself was good. A free safe was provided. The TV has a good selection of channels including BBC1 and BBC 2 On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and I got a good night's sleep. I didn't take breakfast as at €15 I could get much better alternatives close by. Amsterdam hotels are generally expensive and while this stay was at a reasonable price, the standard of accomodation has fallen behind current standards. Chains like Ibis offer much better quality for much the same price. I wouldn't use this hotel again despite it's excellent location.
Jan 20, 2013 by Hotel manager
Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. I apologise for the way we "started off' I at check-in. As we are a small 3 star city center hotel, we have only one receptionist available. I undertand that you were not pleased , after having to wait for the receptionist to finish a telephone call, with the fact that you needed to relocate to our sister hotel. I guess you booked a double room for sole use, which wasn't available at the time. But I am not sure. l Alternatively you were offered a single room instead, which is probably the reason of the confusion. Again my apologies for this unpleasant experience with our hotel. We will use your comments to better our service in future.
for Everyoneby Kev from Glasgow
Excellent location and valuePosted Nov 10, 2013
Hotel was in a great location for getting about the Dam. Staff were very friendly. Our room was on the lower ground floor which meant we got a bit of noise from the cleaners in the laundry room each morning. All in all though, great hotel, location, and good value for money. Would def stay again.
for Everyoneby traveller from London
Budget HotelPosted Nov 9, 2013
Definitely just a budget hotel for your Amsterdam stay. Night staff was inexperienced, the sink in my room was leaking and the cleaning lady missed her cleaning sponge next to my tooth brush. Positives are the near location to Theathre district, central and Schiphol and the free Wifi. But don't expect any other extras.
for Everyoneby A verified traveller
Good locationPosted Oct 23, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Many tourist attractions within walking distance, others just a short tram ride away.
for Everyoneby Dave from Sunapee New Hamsphire
Great hotel - staff - location. Near Rijksmuseum.Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Location - location - location!~
Cons: Plumbing was odd - but that happens everywhere.
If you are looking for a well situated hotel near the Rijksmuseum with helpful staff and good rooms - this is it. I would like to write a balanced review and tell you about problems with this place, but I didn't have any. The room I had was a single and small - but certainly clean, with a good bed, and a good small bath. The hotel is on a main street five minutes from a main tram line at Ledesplein - TRAM 1. When you get on the tram at Amsterdam Centraal ask for a ticket to Ledespein - it will cost 2.80 euros and be good for an hour. Check in and out on the tram. You will see what I mean. The hotel staff I dealt with were excellent - an older gentleman checked me in quickly and efficiently. Two younger staff helped me with directions and with my boarding pass for the airline. They were very good and genuinely nice. There's a breakfast bar that I didn't eat at in the hotel - so I can't speak to that. There's free coffee and tea - and internet access when needed. You can stay here with confidence. Cheers.
for Everyoneby JM from British Columbia, Canada
Reasonable hotel for pricePosted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Mainly good location.
Cons: A lounge with comfortable chairs would have been nice as it was very wet when we were there and the room was not big enough to sit in.
Location: Location was perfect. Short walk from airport bus and close to downtown. Museums close by.
Very pleased with central location but rooms and bathrooms were very small. Would have been fine if weather was fine but it was very wet and we would have liked to sit in our room to dry out! Not possible because of the cramped conditions and the hotel did not have a lounge to sit in. Staff booked restaurants and museum tickets for us which was very helpful.
for Everyoneby A verified traveller
Clean, convenient and cozy hotelPosted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Clean, convenient, and staff friendly.
This hotel is located Close to Amsterdam's entertainment area. It's very convenient to go anywhere. It's a little small but it's clean. Also, staff is very helpful.
for Everyoneby A verified traveller
Strategic locationPosted Oct 7, 2013
Warning! The rooms are small, BUT as I traveled solo this was fine by me. That may be a problem if you are traveling with others. Do not let "Theatre District" fool you. This hotel is practically in the middle of the action. I walked to the Rijksmuseum from here, and to the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House, and the Heineken Experience as well. Once you get a pass for public transit from the tourist office, all you need to know is routes 1,2 and 5 and you are set! The Wifi in the rooms is included and is fast. If I were to travel back to Amsterdam I would do what I could to stay at this hotel. It couldn't have worked out more perfectly.
for Everyoneby Casey from Boston, MA
Good location, but that's about itPosted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: It's small, but it's fine if you just need a place to sleep.
Location: Everything is in walking distance. It's only a 25 or 30 minute walk to the center of the city.
I had reserved a room that in the print said could be a double bed or two single beds. In the pictures, it looks like the double beds can be split by simply moving the two halves apart. Got to the hotel and found out it's just a double bed. Not sure how you specify two singles other than calling, in which case, just bypass expedia and call directly. Other than that, it was ok. Nothing special. Very small. I had to sleep on the floor since it was only a double and I'm not even that tall, but my head was on the far side of the room and my feet kept bumping into the bed on the other side of the room...so the actual room area is about the length of an average sized man.