Ratings based on 75 verified reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from London

Posted 19 Nov, 2018
If you're looking for character and charm in Cape Town rather than a soulless chain hotel, then look no further. Close to the the attractions of the older part of the city and an easy taxi ride to the waterfront - nice courtyard, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Great location

Posted 26 Jun, 2018
Welcoming and accommodating staff. Close to the gardens, museums and restaurants
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 15 Jun, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 11 Mar, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

convenient location

Posted 26 Feb, 2018 on Hotels
Decent sized clean room adequately furnished. More ventilation needed in the room during hot summer periods, standing fan unable to cool the room sufficiently. Would have appreciated tea & coffee making facilities. Receptionist efficient, friendly & helpful.
4 out of 5
by Meghan

Very cute but loud

Posted 9 Nov, 2017 on Hotels
The B&B was super cute but it you could hear everything from construction outside to other guests conversations very clearly.
3 out of 5
by Carina

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 1 Apr, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Youmna

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 23 Mar, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Caroline

Review

Posted 27 Feb, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was old but the staff were very pleasant. We booked in at the last minute as our original booking was problematic and we needed a place to stay. As a result we had the only remaining room. I think that it would have been better if we had been upstairs. The hotel is quaint and has a lot of character. I will happily return.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Art Deco pretence - little deco, no shabby chic...

Posted 7 Oct, 2016 on Hotels
The Fritz Hotel was a great disappointment - mainly because of the poor condition of the room...nothing worked....the bedside lamps were broken, the taps dripped incessantly, the floorboards were rough and full of splinters and generally filthy and the whole room smelt odd. I could not fault the staff however, as it is impossible to clean floors that are in such a poor state of repair, and the girls did their best with the little resources they had. The sheets were OK, pillows not so good, towels dreadful - and only one bath towel and a tiny hand towel available. Charmaine at reception was very kind and accommodating, but she could do little - she told me she knows the owner since over 20 years. Shame the owner does not put a little more effort into the upkeep and presentation of the place, because the actual building is lovely, and the location excellent. I felt ripped off in fact, because this is no three star hotel, in my opinion, more two teetering on the verge of one....I did not see any other room than room 4 which gave out on to the front courtyard, and was very noisy. The bins were emptied on the Friday morning very early which woke me up, and then one was treated to a row of black bins just outside the window....very downmarket. On the upside, the breakfast was fine. Decent expresso coffee, and an adequate supply of carbs and fat. Shame the croissants were so soggy - best to pop them into the oven for a couple of minutes....hey ho!!! could do better!!